Acá esta la lista de los artistas que participan de la Bienal de Sao Paulo 2018

Here’s the Artist List for the 2018 Bienal de São Paulo

The Bienal de São Paulo has revealed the artist list for its 2018 edition, its 33rd, which opens on September 7 and runs through December 9 at the Pavilhão Ciccillo Matarazzo.

In an unconventional move, the biennial’s artistic director, Gabriel Pérez-Barreiro, has divided the exhibition into seven parts, each of them curated by a different artist who has selected his or her own theme. (The biennial as a whole is named “Affective Affinities.”) “The seven artist-curators have been working with full autonomy both in regards to each other and to the general curatorship,” Pérez-Barreiro said in a statement. “The only imposed limitations are of a practical nature such as budgets and the use of physical space within the Bienal Pavilion.”

Those artists are Alejandro Cesarco, Antonio Ballester Moreno, Claudia Fontes, Mamma Andersson, Sofia Borges, Waltercio Caldas, and Wura-Natasha Ogunji. Cesarco’s show, for example, is called “Aos nossos pais” (“To Our Parents”) and focuses on repetition and the rewriting of history, while Ballester Moreno’s exhibition, “sentido/comum” (“sense/common”), is about nature and our origins. Other areas of focus include introspection, images and representation, relationships between artists across time, and speed and slowness.

The full list of artists follows below. Asterisks indicate artists commissioned to do works for the biennial.

Mamma Andersson, “Stargazer II”
Henry Darger (USA, 1892–1973)
Dick Bengtsson (Sweden, 1936–89)
Gunvor Nelson (Sweden, b. 1931)
Åke Hodell (Sweden, 1919–2000)

Antonio Ballester Moreno, “sentido/comum” (“common/sense”)
Friedrich Fröbel (Germany, 1782–1852)
Andrea Büttner (Germany, b. 1972)
Mark Dion (USA, b. 1961)
Rafael Sánchez-Mateos Paniagua (Spain, b. 1979)

Sofia Borges, “A Infinita História das Coisas ou o Fim da Tragédia do um” (“The Infinite History of Things or the End of the Tragedy of One”)
Jennifer Tee (Holland, b. 1973)
Leda Catunda (Brazil, b. 1961)
Sarah Lucas (United Kingdom, b. 1962)
Tal Isaac Hadad (France, b. 1976)

Waltercio Caldas
Victor Hugo (France, 1802–85)
Jorge Oteiza (Spain, 1908–2003)
Vicente do Rego Monteiro (Brazil, 1899–1970)

Alejandro Cesarco, “Aos nossos pais” (“To Our Parents”)
Sturtevant (USA/France, 1924–2014)
Louise Lawler (USA, b. 1947)
Cameron Rowland (USA, b. 1988)

Claudia Fontes, “O pássaro lento” (“The Slow Bird”)
Roderick Hietbrink (Holland, b. 1975)
Ben Rivers (United Kingdom, b. 1972)
Daniel Bozhkov (Bulgaria, b. 1959)*
Elba Bairon (Bolivia, b. 1947)
Katrín Sigurdardóttir (Iceland/USA, b. 1967)
Pablo Martín Ruiz (Argentina, b. 1964)
Paola Sferco (Argentina, b. 1974)
Sebastián Castagna (Argentina, b. 1965)
Žilvinas Landzbergas (Lithuania, b. 1979)

Wura-Natasha Ogunji, “sempre, nunca” (“always, never”)
Lhola Amira (South Africa, b. 1984)*
Mame-Diarra Niang (France, b. 1982)*
Nicole Vlado (USA, b. 1980)*
ruby onyinyechi amanze (Nigeria, b. 1982)*
Youmna Chlala (Lebanon, b. 1974)*


Deja una respuesta

Introduce tus datos o haz clic en un icono para iniciar sesión:

Logo de

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Salir /  Cambiar )

Imagen de Twitter

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Twitter. Salir /  Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Salir /  Cambiar )

Conectando a %s

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: